Box Hill: The story so far

Box Hill entered the Victorian Division 4 in 1925. In their first season they lost one game and drew once to become champion and win promotion to division 3 for the 1926 season.

This season proved to be just as successful as they once again became league champions, this time losing just two games throughout the season. The following year they participated in the Victorian District League, where they finished fourth. The league was then suspended for three seasons before restarting in 1931. Box Hill were once again crowned champions and moved up to division one. After a couple of solid seasons placing mid table, the league was again suspended due to World War II.

When the league restarted in 1946, Box Hill remained in Victoria’s top division – until 1961 when they were relegated to division two. In this period Box Hill were once crowned champions (1948) and once finished runners up (1950). Over the next 20 years the club remained mainly in the second division, achieving promotion to the state league for just 4 seasons.

From the 1983 season until they were relegated in 1990, Box Hill achieved three top-five finishes. After being relegated it would take three seasons for Box Hill to return to the state league (which was now known as the Victorian Premier League) in 1995. Finishing ninth in 1995 and then 12th in 1996, they then merged with Bulleen Lions and Brunswick Juventus to form the Bulleen Inter Kings.

Armstrong Cup Champions 1984

From their foundation in 1922 until their merger in 1996, Box Hill had won nine championships and 11 promotions. Winning the Victorian State League title on just one occasion in 1948 and finishing in second place on two occasions.

In late 2013, Box Hill were accepted into the National Premier Leagues Victoria, being placed into the second tier of the competition, the NPL Victoria 2. In 2014, the first season of the newly introduced competition, United finished in third place, just four points shy of the promoted North Geelong Warriors. Rinor Muriqi was a stand-out for Pythagoras, scoring on 13 occasions. In 2015, the NPL2 was split into East and West conferences. Box Hill were placed into the East conference and managed a fourth-place finish, seven points shy of the promoted Melbourne Victory Youth. In 2016 Box Hill finished in 4th place.

The following season was a tough one with the club finishing in 8th place, in danger of relegation at some parts of the season.

In 2018, Box Hill finished in 7th place. At the end of the season, head coach Brian Vanega resigned. United appointed Con Karagiannidis as the new interim manager in October 2018. Karagiannidis joined Box Hill having won the youth Under 20 NPL Victoria championship with Pascoe Vale and is his first ever job coaching men’s senior football.

Metropolitan League Division Two Champions 1975
Metropolitan League Division Two Champions 1975


The club was originally formed in 1922 as Box Hill United Soccer Club. This name remained until the conclusion of the 1991 season where they merged with Clayton Inter to then become Box Hill Inter Soccer Club.

In 1996 Bulleen Zebras and Brunswick Juventus merged together with Box Hill to create the Bulleen Inter Kings for the 1997 Victorian Premier League season. Box Hill’s juniors then became known as Box Hill-Clayton Inter Kings.

At the time of the merger with Bulleen and Brunswick many of the original Clayton Inter club members broke away to form another club, Clayton SC, which still remains to this day.

The club was then known as “Box Hill International Soccer Club” until 2010 when it merged with Southern Suburbs Pythagoras SC.